Pidgin 2.7.0 with prpl-uruki

Apologies, I’m not going to do much more than list a series of command here… These are intended for Ubuntu (Lucid Lynx), and will compile prpl-uruki so that you can view who is online. No chat at this point.

$ sudo apt-get install libssl-dev libjpeg62-dev zlib1g-dev
$ hg clone http://dev.zrax.net/hg/libhsplasma
$ cd ./libhsplasma
$ ./configure --prefix=/usr --no-python --with-pkgconfig
$ make
$ sudo make install-dev
$ cd ..
$ hg clone http://dev.zrax.net/hg/prpl-uruki
$ cd ./prpl-uruki
$ ./autogen.sh
$ ./configure --prefix=/usr
$ make
$ sudo make install

If you reload Pidgin, you should have the option to add an “Uru KI Network” account. When(/if) it connects, your buddy list will be displayed.

Known Issues:

  • Chatting is not implemented. Chatting does not work. There is no chat. There is no chat.
  • If the connection fails, Pidgin will hang forever waiting on a thread condition. If I see a lot of complaints, this might be rewritten.
  • You can add buddies, but cannot remove them (through Pidgin)
  • Did I mention that chatting does not work? Do not give me bug reports about it :P

Bugs can be submitted at prpl-uruki on Google Code.

3 thoughts on “Pidgin 2.7.0 with prpl-uruki

  1. dragossh says:

    I am trying to build this on Fedora 13, however, I am stuck. I have built and installed libHSPlasma, but when I configure prpl-uruki, it can’t find libhsplasmanet.

    “checking for HSPLASMANET… configure: error: Package requirements (libhsplasmanet) were not met:

    No package ‘libhsplasmanet’ found”

    Any tips?

  2. Darryl Pogue says:

    Ah, that’s my fault. Sorry!

    In my instructions, after compiling libHSPlasma(Net), it should be sudo make install-dev rather than just sudo make install (and I get confused even when I’m developing!).

    Try that and let me know if it works. :)

  3. dragossh says:

    Yep, it worked :)
    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

