MO:ULagain on wine

Okay, short note before I start this. It has occurred to me that the only time I blog now is when I’m frustrated and can’t fit it into 140 characters, or when people ask me the same question repeatedly to the point that it’s easier to blog about it. This post is of the second kind. :P

So Uru is back (again), and it’s Windows only. Mac people can possibly use the old GameTap Cider package and replace the application contents, but Linux people need to use wine. I’ve had good luck with wine and Uru, and after a plethora of IMs, PMs, Tweets, and forum posts, I’m writing a tutorial for getting Uru working with wine.
Update: This is compatible with wine 1.1.40!
Update: This is compatible with wine 1.1.41, but requires some minor changes to the patches.
Update: This is (mostly) compatible with wine 1.1.42. Download the latest patches from wine bug 421. After ./configure, you only need to run make (not make depend).
Update: This is compatible with wine 1.1.44! Download the latest patches from wine bug 421.
Update: This should work with wine 1.2! I’ve also been informed that it works with wine 1.3.1 (and probably newer ones like 1.3.4).

Update: With wine 1.3.16 you NO LONGER NEED THE DIB ENGINE PATCHES!

Are you looking to test a native Linux/Mac client for MOUL?
Check out branan’s awesome PlasmaClient project. Download the alpha release and watch for progress!

1. Set Up & Basics

At the time of writing, the latest version of wine is 1.1.39. I will most likely be compiling each new version of wine when it is released, and will post updates if anything changes or breaks.
I am running on Ubuntu Karmic, so instructions may be different for different distros.
wine has a long outstanding bug involving its (lack of) DIB engine. For Uru, this is important for the cursor. If you use wine without patches, your cursor will be a white block. The game is still entirely playable (as far as I can tell), but if you want the cursor you will need to compile wine yourself.

1.1 Getting wine (no patches)

On Ubuntu Karmic, open the Software Sources menu by going to System->Administration->Software Sources.
Then select the Third Party Software tab and click Add.
In the APT Line box, enter the following:
ppa:ubuntu-wine/ppa

Open Synaptic Package Manager by going to System->Administration->Synaptic Package Manager.
Click the Reload button.
Find the wine package in the package list and mark it for installation.
Click the Apply button to install the packages.

Continue to step 2.
Source – http://www.winehq.org/download/deb

1.2 Patch and compile wine

THIS IS NO LONGER NECESSARY IF YOU ARE RUNNING WINE 1.3.16 OR HIGHER

On Ubuntu Karmic, open the Software Sources menu by going to System->Administration->Software Sources.
Then select the Third Party Software tab and click Add.
In the APT Line box, enter the following:
ppa:ubuntu-wine/ppa

Update your packages:
sudo apt-get update
Install the necessary library and development packages:
sudo apt-get build-dep wine1.2

Download the wine source code from SourceForge.
Extract the wine source code to a directory (I’ll assume ~/wine-1.1.39).
Download the DIB engine patches from wine bug #421.
Extract the DIB patches to a subdirectory (such as ~/wine-1.1.39/dibeng-max).

Go through the series file, and apply each patch to wine as follows:
~/wine-1.1.39$ patch -p1 < ./dibeng-max/patch_file.patch
Rebuild the configure script by running:
~/wine-1.1.39$ autoconf
Configure wine:
~/wine-1.1.39$ ./configure
Compile wine: (You only need to use make depend if you are compiling an old version of wine < 1.1.42)
~/wine-1.1.39$ make depend && make
Install wine:
~/wine-1.1.39$ sudo make install

2. Make OpenAL work with pulseaudio

In theory, wine is capable of using the system’s OpenAL library to provide native sound output. In practice, the sound cuts out after the intro video for me.
This is also complicated by the fact that pulseaudio and wine don’t always play nicely either. If this is an issue, I wish you luck. :P

Update: To make the sounds work fully in wine, please see http://forum.guildofwriters.com/viewtopic.php?f=86&t=4203.

Open the wine configuration tool by going to Application->Wine->Configure Wine.
Go to the Libraries tab.
In the New override for library type the following:
openal32
Click the Add button.

You should see in the Existing Overrides box an entry that says
openal32 (native, builtin)

Click Apply to save your changes.

3. Set the wine version

Uru uses PhysX as a physics backend. PhysX requires wine to be in Windows XP mode.

Open the wine configuration tool (it should still be open).
Go to the Applications tab.
Set the Windows Version dropdown to Windows XP.
Click OK to save your changes.

4. Get MO:ULagain

Ideally get a full version from one of the mirrors listed at MystOnline.com.

5. Run Uru

There are two executable files in the main Uru directory: UruLauncher.exe and UruExplorer.exe.
UruLauncher is the patcher program, UruExplorer is the actual game.

Rather than running the patcher directly, I’ve had better luck if I run the game (which will detect and then launch the patcher itself).

If you’re using an unpatched wine, you should be able to simply double click UruExplorer.exe to launch the game.

If you patched wine, I suggest creating a quicklaunch file in your Uru directory to set up the DIB engine and run the game.
Open a terminal and navigate to your Uru directory.
$ echo "WINEDIB=ON wine UruExplorer.exe" > runuru
$ sudo chmod a+x ./runuru
$ ./runuru

64 thoughts on “MO:ULagain on wine

  1. So I’ve followed this but when I login and accept the EULA, I get an entry in Docky for “Untitled Window”, but no said window. Does Compiz need to be off?

  2. Keshwyn says:

    I’ve gotten further than expected, but at this point, I’m crashing out on the video settings:

    err:winediag:X11DRV_WineGL_InitOpenglInfo Direct rendering is disabled, most likely your OpenGL drivers haven’t been installed correctly

    If you have suggestions, I’d love to see them in here. Thanks so much for doing this!

    • Paradox says:

      The error says “Direct rendering is disabled, most likely your OpenGL drivers haven’t been installed correctly”.

      You are probably using the default generic video drivers that came with Ubuntu, rather than ones that are specific to your card.

      Try opening the Driver settings by going to System->Administration->Hardware Drivers.
      If you see one that is recommended, try installing it and see if it fixes the problem.

  3. Ok, I’ve got some error codes by running it through the terminal.

    “chris@DeepBlue:~$ wine ‘/home/chris/.wine/drive_c/Program Files/Uru Live/UruExplorer.exe’
    chris@DeepBlue:~$ fixme:ntdll:RtlNtStatusToDosErrorNoTeb no mapping for 8000000a
    fixme:ntdll:RtlNtStatusToDosErrorNoTeb no mapping for 8000000a
    URUPlayer StartProc, running game process at dir:C:\Program Files\Uru Live\, cmd:C:\Program Files\Uru Live\UruExplorer.exe for application:UruExplorer.exe
    0err:winediag:X11DRV_WineGL_InitOpenglInfo Direct rendering is disabled, most likely your OpenGL drivers haven’t been installed correctly
    fixme:d3d_caps:init_driver_info Unhandled vendor 8086.
    fixme:d3d:check_fbo_compat Format WINED3DFMT_B8G8R8_UNORM with rendertarget flag is not supported as FBO color attachment, and no fallback specified.
    fixme:d3d:check_fbo_compat Format WINED3DFMT_B8G8R8A8_UNORM with rendertarget flag is not supported as FBO color attachment, and no fallback specified.
    fixme:d3d:check_fbo_compat Format WINED3DFMT_B8G8R8X8_UNORM with rendertarget flag is not supported as FBO color attachment, and no fallback specified.
    fixme:d3d:check_fbo_compat Format WINED3DFMT_B5G6R5_UNORM rtInternal format is not supported as FBO color attachment.
    fixme:d3d:check_fbo_compat Format WINED3DFMT_R16G16_UNORM rtInternal format is not supported as FBO color attachment.
    fixme:d3d:check_fbo_compat Format WINED3DFMT_R16G16B16A16_UNORM with rendertarget flag is not supported as FBO color attachment, and no fallback specified.
    fixme:win:EnumDisplayDevicesW ((null),0,0x33ccf0,0x00000000), stub!
    err:seh:setup_exception_record stack overflow 1092 bytes in thread 0027 eip 0053f843 esp 00240eec stack 0x240000-0x241000-0x340000”

    • Paradox says:

      See my reply to the above comment. Are you running with the correct video drivers? (Though in theory compiz shouldn’t work if you aren’t…)

      If you have nvidia drivers, you probably also need the nvidia-###-glx package installed for proper OpenGL acceleration.

      • franzrogar says:

        I’ve the same problem as Chris.

        I guess it’s because I’ve a Intel GMA X3100 and using dri2 but I’m not sure if that’d be the source of problems.

        I even installed dx9redist and problem still stays.

        But I’m quite sure it’s a problem with my 64bits distro.

        Any idea?

  4. Paradox says:

    wine installed from the Ubuntu/wine repositories should work fine on a 64bit distro (but it can’t run 64bit apps).

    The issue is that your video drivers don’t support OpenGL Direct Rendering (which wine requires for DirectX support).

    You can see if Direct Rendering is supported by running the following:
    glxinfo | grep "direct"

    You should hopefully see a line that reads
    direct rendering: Yes

  5. NnT042 says:

    Hey, I just tried the DIB patch and (after wrangling with missing libraries – might want to update the compile instructions for folks who don’t do much source building on linux) finally got wine put together… And yet:

    err:driver:Load_Dib_Driver Couldn’t load DIB Engine

    Any ideas why?

    • Darryl Pogue says:

      Ah, thanks for mentioning the libraries. I should have included sudo apt-get build-dep wine in my instructions.

      Regarding the DIB Engine problem, are you running Uru with WINEDIB=ON?

      • NnT042 says:

        Yes, I am.

        As far as libraries, I thought I had added everything I needed manually, but it looks like that build-dep line has found a few more (it failed at first because I forgot to enable “source” lines in my repositories.
        Will try another recompile and see how it goes.
        Thanks for the help :)

      • NnT042 says:

        Still nothing. Everything finishes without errors, but when I install I don’t seem to have the file called “winedib.drv” – that is the driver that the patch is supposed to make, right?

        Trying again, this time dumping all the make output into a file so I can read over it to see what’s going wrong.

      • Darryl Pogue says:

        Did you run autoconf after applying the patches? That step is inportant to get the DIB engine working…

      • NnT042 says:

        That was the hint I needed. I *was* using autoconf faithfully each time, but it wasn’t doing anything because the configure.ac file was unchanged. Somehow, for some reason, the patch called “dib-engine-initial-pass-throug.patch” had an invalid entry where it was supposed to add the driver to the configure.ac file. How I missed the ‘FAILED’ message from patch three times in a row is a mystery.

        Apparently, the patch was trying to add a line that started with WINE_CONFIG_MAKEFILE in between several other similar lines for the other drivers. But, the actual file contains a bunch of shorter lines that start with WINE_CONFIG_DLL. All I had to do was imitate their format with a new line for winedib.drv. This should be the last thing I need to fix (*fingers crossed*).

        On an unrelated note, how do you format text in monospace here? There’s no preview and I don’t want to try a tag that doesn’t work and end up looking silly.

      • Darryl Pogue says:

        Glad you got it working :)

        Monospace can be achieved with <code> tags.

  6. stash says:

    stack dump log

    UruLive.Live.1.871 – External.Release

    Exception type: (unknown)

    Call stack (14 levels):

    0x0045401B

    0x00452D90

    0x005710BD

    0x00593D17

    0x2A4A45DF

    0x7065A268

    0x7068746A

    0x5B474767

    0x5B47D29A

    0x5B485899

    0x5B48579D

    0x6817B648

    when i launch the game i hear the intro song but have a blank screen then i get this, is this a graphics card issue?

  7. Pavitra says:

    I don’t have it working myself yet, but at http://wiki.winehq.org/DIBEngine it says:

    There is an environment variable, WINEDIB, which can be set with “export WINEDIB=ON”. This must be done in the terminal before any applications needing the DIB engine are run.

    Have you tried that?

  8. Tahg says:

    stash, mind pointing me to the version of wine you use? If I can find the same libraries, I can trace them.

  9. stash says:

    im using wine 1.1.38 on ubuntu karmic, thanks for any help

  10. stash says:

    stash@stash-desktop:~$ uname -m
    i686
    stash@stash-desktop:~$ uname -a
    Linux stash-desktop 2.6.31-19-generic #56-Ubuntu SMP Thu Jan 28 01:26:53 UTC 2010 i686 GNU/Linux
    stash@stash-desktop:~$ glxinfo | grep “direct”
    direct rendering: Yes
    stash@stash-desktop:~$

    OpenGL vendor string: Tungsten Graphics, Inc
    OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI Intel(R) 845G GEM 20090712 2009Q2 RC3 x86/MMX/SSE2
    OpenGL version string: 1.3 Mesa 7.6

    hope this helps

    • Demos says:

      I also have a similar problem in my uru:cc install. I would post the stack dump but I think I will wait until stash has his problem solved.

      Also if it helps I found that turning off audio in the launcher fixed my problem but unfortunately myst can not be played without audio.

    • Tahg says:

      In order to trace it accurately, would you mind providing me with a copy of your OpenGl libraries? You can probably find these in lib/libGL*.so You can email me at tahgtahv AT gmail DOT com if you want.

  11. Demos says:

    is there anything special needed to trace this or is it just some debugging program, I just don’t want to cause too much trouble.

  12. Tahg says:

    No trouble at all. However, I’ll have to dig up CC in order to trace it. Pretty sure I have a copy floating around. Sounds like you have some sort of audio problem Demos, if disabling audio fixes it. I can look into exactly where it crashed, but my guess is drivers are the ultimate issue.

    • Demos says:

      My bet is that wine is not playing nice with CoreAudio(the driver I am using for wine), the only thing is I don’t think any of the other wine supported drivers play well with OSX. I am using wine 1.1.25 as distributed with crossover games l4d edition(I am using the CXZ black diamond wrapper)

      and the error follows, thank you for the quick reply

      Exception type: Access violation
      Call stack (14 levels):
      0x00869D54
      0x00475D0F
      0x0047650B
      0x00641570
      0x00640F3C
      0x0064112F
      0x00614758
      0x00613F71
      0x0061716B
      0x00615CB1
      0x00615D9F
      0x00619CAD
      0x00619565

      • Tahg says:

        I can see, without even tracing it, that it’s crashing within the game engine and not in another driver. This however doesn’t necessarily mean that the driver is not at fault, it could for instance be returning null because something failed. I’ll check into it. This is the packaged version of CC I assume? If not, I’ll need a version, or baring that the filesize and md5 of UruExplorer

  13. Demos says:

    well I did install the nocd patch from ubi

    SOOO
    UruExplorer.exe md5: cc57bc5c6b16f0524037a0eeb1d0ca10
    UruExplorer.exe filesize: 7.8MB as reported by finder and 7782400 (bytes I assume) as reported by ls

  14. Darryl Pogue says:

    Just a note to everyone, the patches I linked do not apply cleanly to wine 1.1.39.

    I will fix them and update the link :)

    • Demos says:

      that patch seems to be for DIB(Device independent bitmap?). I guess crossover’s version of wine does not need that as it must be already included. I would suppose this may be an alternative for linux people as the source for that distribution of wine are available on the crossover site.

  15. Darryl Pogue says:

    Updated the link to point to a set of (hopefully) correct patches. Please let me know if you have any problems getting them to apply :)

    • Pavitra says:

      The patches applied without errors, and I successfully compiled Wine. The cursor renders correctly, but the graphics got messed up in other ways.


      (For some reason the screenshots show my Linux cursor rather than the game cursor, but that part is rendering correctly in reality. The real cursor is visible “ghosted” in the fullscreen screenshot; I see it solid (unghosted) and the Linux cursor (the arrow) is invisible.)

      In the screenshots, note particularly the partially-invisible avatar (with the version of Wine from the repositories, only the hands and face are missing (at least with this outfit)), and the weird stuff along the top and right borders, which seems to resemble a closeup of the missing polygons.

      (Also note that the cursor responds correctly to the movement hotspot at the edge of the screen. :D)

  16. DarK says:

    Seeing a Compile error against current git-wine

    /home/darkside/wine-git/dlls/winedib.drv/graphics.c:324: undefined reference to `ClipLine’

    Am I missing something?!

    • Darryl Pogue says:

      hmm, I haven’t tested anything against git, only against the releases.

      It’s possible there are GDI or DIB changes in git that will require a new version of the patch for 1.1.40. :(

      • DarK says:

        Ok, I always follow Git on wine for cutting edginess

        I cheated with the compile error since its just a test to check if some other bits of code needed to be run, it might break other things. but for now it seems to be ok for Uru

        graphics.c : Line 324

        if(ClipLine(&p1, &p2, r, &pc1, &pc2))

        to

        if (TRUE)

        Again dirty hack, but it sorted the issue out

  17. Pavitra says:

    Disregard that, it was something else. Investigating now.

  18. RR_Caz says:

    Shorah
    As a linux n00b, I’m using Mint Helena based on Ubuntu Karmic Koala, and when I try to compile I get this message:
    joe@joe-laptop ~/wine-1.1.39 $ sudo apt-get build-dep wine1.2
    Reading package lists… Done
    Building dependency tree
    Reading state information… Done
    E: Unable to find a source package for wine1.2
    joe@joe-laptop ~/wine-1.1.39 $

    What am I obviously doing wrong?

    Thanks, RR

  19. Darryl Pogue says:

    I have no experience with Mint, so I’m not sure whether they have a wine1.2 package.

    Perhaps add the wine repository (as in step 1), but don’t install wine, run build-dep instead.

  20. tinker says:

    To enable WINEDIB=ON without patching and compiling.
    Download patched binary files to insert into your current wine-1.1.40 installation.

    From this location … http://jump.fm/OHRGC

    The package contains gdi32.dll.so and winedib.dll.so
    Unpacking and installing depends on your configuration.
    sudo unzip -d /usr wine-1.1.40-winedibpatch-i686.zip

    Getting ready for MystOnline :))

  21. Andy Legate says:

    Paradox,

    Thanks a TON dude! I lost XP today and can’t reinstall. Can’t afford Windows 7, so I’ve installed Ubuntu 9.10 and Wine 1.1.41…….

    With your instructions here, I’m able to log on with Uru Live!

    Thanks again!

    Andy

  22. Walt Scrivens says:

    I realize these instructions are for Linux. I’m trying to solve the same cursor problem on a Mac.
    So far, with wine 1.1.41, I seem to have gotten around the kemo/GZ problems, but still the cursor issue remains. I’ve been using

    ./configure –prefix=/Applications/Wine.app/Contents/Resources

    without running autoconf first, and everything compiles without errors.

    If I run autoconf first, then configure gives the following error messages:
    ./configure: line 24489: syntax error near unexpected token `$ac_enable,no,,wine_fn_append_rule’
    ./configure: line 24489: ` AS_VAR_IF($ac_enable,no,,wine_fn_append_rule ALL_MAKEFILE_DEPENDS \’

    I’m not at all familiar with the format of configure files, and have no idea what to try next. Any ideas would be very welcome!

    Walt

  23. Walt Scrivens says:

    The entire section is:

    wine_fn_config_makefile ()
    {
    ac_dir=$1
    ac_enable=$2
    wine_fn_all_dir_rules $ac_dir “Make.rules \$(MAKEDEP)”

    AS_VAR_IF($ac_enable,no,,wine_fn_append_rule ALL_MAKEFILE_DEPENDS \
    “all .PHONY: $ac_dir
    $ac_dir: $ac_dir/Makefile dummy
    @cd $ac_dir && \$(MAKE)
    install:: $ac_dir
    @cd $ac_dir && \$(MAKE) install
    install-lib:: $ac_dir
    @cd $ac_dir && \$(MAKE) install-lib
    install-dev:: $ac_dir
    @cd $ac_dir && \$(MAKE) install-dev
    uninstall:: $ac_dir/Makefile
    @cd $ac_dir && \$(MAKE) uninstall”)
    }

    I’ve looked for all the obvious stuff- unbalanced parentheses, quote marks, and there are 4 other occurrences of AS_VAR_IF in the file, all with similar syntax, so I’m stumped.

    Help would be appreciated :-)

    Walt

  24. Darryl Pogue says:

    Unfortunately, I have no experience building stuff on Mac, or know what versions of autotools it uses.

    Try sending a PM to Christian Walther or Tiran, and see if they’ve got any information that might help.

    I haven’t tried compiling with 1.1.42 yet, waiting to see if there are any dib engine patches that need updating.

  25. Adam says:

    I’d love to to try this, but I already have some stuff running under 1.1.42 (I didn’t know this was available, and the Myst series of games were the only games that ever got me hooked). Am I going to have to uninstall wine and then recompile from source?

  26. Adam says:

    OK, ignore my previous post. I’ve uninstalled my previous version of wine and followed the instructions to patch and compile wine 1.1.44 on my 64bit Lucid Lynx. I the only improvement is that I now get the arrow cursor as well as the big square white block… anyone have any ideas??

  27. Darryl Pogue says:

    I’ve had the same thing recent (normal cursor appearing over the Uru cursor). I don’t know of a fix.

  28. Adam says:

    Problem is I’ve gone from having the big square block to having the big square block with the cursor arrow :-) I don’t seem to have quite enough accuracy to do things like sharing books, though otherwise I can play (and thanks to your pointers above seem to have full sound *most* of the time). I’m wondering whether I should recompile with an earlier version of wine rather than 1.1.44? Any thoughts, or does 1.1.44 work fine for people here (in which case I might just try a recompile of 1.1.44)

  29. Darryl Pogue says:

    I think 1.1.44 was the last compatible version. It does not work properly with the 1.2RC builds.

  30. Walt Scrivens says:

    I’m using 1.1.44 on a Mac OS X 10.6.4
    I originally compiled it as 1.1.41 and then have just taken the automatic updates since.
    If I launch it with

    WINEDIB=ON ~/wine-1.1.41/wine UruExplorer.exe

    as suggested in an earlier post, I get a long litany of repeated error messages like this:

    Wine cannot find the FreeType font library. To enable Wine to
    use TrueType fonts please install a version of FreeType greater than
    or equal to 2.0.5.
    http://www.freetype.org
    err:driver:Load_Dib_Driver Couldn’t load DIB Engine

    and then Uru finally starts. I DO have a current FreeType font library installed and I have no idea how to get/install the DIB Engine.

    The game runs normally, and I get the same arrow + box cursor Adam and others have mentioned.

    Walt

  31. nik_russia says:

    (Gentoo)
    I have analog problem, after parching and istalation, wine say me (after WINEDIB=ON wine acad.exe):
    err:driver:Load_Dib_Driver Couldn’t load DIB Engine
    err:driver:Load_Dib_Driver Couldn’t load DIB Engine
    err:driver:Load_Dib_Driver Couldn’t load DIB Engine
    err:driver:Load_Dib_Driver Couldn’t load DIB Engine
    err:driver:Load_Dib_Driver Couldn’t load DIB Engine
    err:driver:Load_Dib_Driver Couldn’t load DIB Engine
    …..
    How resolve this problem loading driver?

  32. nik_russia says:

    Without the dib engine Autocad is wery slow rendering TruType text. I am suspect, that may problem (->err:driver:Load_Dib_Driver Couldn’t load DIB Engine) from the specifik Gentoo instalation method.
    My step:
    1. Unpack wine-1.1.18.tar.bz2
    2. Patch: patch -p1 wine-1.1.18.tar.bz2
    5. Replace original wine-1.1.18.tar.bz2 in distfiles directory
    6. emerge =wine-1.1.18
    On all steps no problem, but after use wine, error load driver is present (err:driver:Load_Dib_Driver Couldn’t load DIB Engine)
    I use old wine-1.1.18 for example, because on new wine-1.1.43 one patch say lake that “hint failed”.

  33. Darryl Pogue says:

    The DIB engine will definitely not apply to wine 1.1.18. You should use 1.1.44 with the latest DIB engine patches.

  34. Darryl Pogue says:

    As a sidenote, let me explain the situation with wine 1.2…

    Some changes were made that broke the DIB engine, there was a very ugly hack added to the patches to make it compile again. I suppose you could compile it with some success, but I’m currently waiting and hoping that someone finds a nicer way to resolve the issue.

  35. nik_russia says:

    Sorry for obsession, my new step (for wine 1.44):
    1. go to: http://bugs.winehq.org/show_bug.cgi?id=421
    2. download : DIB Engine – Fixed for wine-1.1.44 http://bugs.winehq.org/attachment.cgi?id=27879
    3.unpack : dibeng-max.zip
    4. i have 15 files :
    dib-engine-add-clipping-on-xxx.patch
    ….. and other and file “series”.
    5. Copy this 15 patch file to unpack wine-1.1.44
    6. aplay first patch:
    patch -p1 < dib-engine-add-clipping-on-xxx.patch
    7. patch say me: "can't find file to patch at input line 17"
    "Perhaps you used the wrong -p or –strip options?"
    …..same informations…………
    "File to patch: " (I understand that , i am need enter same filename?)
    It is wrong? Why patch swear?
    My gentoo system broken or I take invalid patch?

  36. nik_russia says:

    Sorry, I am use incorrect order of aplay patch. (I dont see file “series”)
    After patching AutoCAD increase truetype text rendering VERY MUTCH (same as in Windows), but same artefact is came(appear) -> in text add random blank place.

  37. Eric M Gonzalez says:

    successfully applied the DIB engine patch (Comment #378 From max@veneto.com 2010-08-03 16:48:29) to wine –version 1.3.1. works great! thanks for the write-up.

    but i’ve got to ask: are you affected by odd mouse behavior? oh, like it warping back to the center of the screen if you get close to the edge? is this normal? I’ve been afflicted with this since I first tried running UruLA a couple of months ago. That and the cursor have kept from playing more, but now that the cursor’s fixed (oh, what a nightmare that was), the mouse warping is that last obstacle in my way.

    – tasker.

  38. Darryl Pogue says:

    Ah, thanks for testing with 1.3.1! The DIB engine is starting to fray at this point, and being held together with more hacks that just guarantee it won’t be included or properly maintained. But if it works, it works.

    I have also seen the snapping mouse issue, and I haven’t found a cause for it yet. It definitely didn’t happen with older (1.1.0 to early 1.4.x IIRC) builds.

Leave a Reply

