CyanChat + Pidgin

Ever since I started using Pidgin, I’ve dreamed of having all of my chat protocols working flawlessly in a single program. Recently, I’ve found a Skype for Pidgin plugin, and a Facebook Chat for Pidgin plugin. With those as inspiration, I finally started on my CyanChat plugin for Pidgin.

I have a bit of a history with the CyanChat protocol. I wrote a server and client in C# a year or so ago. Those came to a conclusion when I started using Linux more and couldn’t run the C# programs. LordAndy had started a project to rewrite the popular Magenta client using cross-platform wxWidgets code, and I used and added to wxMagenta. I’ve also written my own enhanced protocol, and started various projects involving that new specification.


CyanChat for Pidgin has support for signing in, joining the chat room, and sending/receiving chat. I tend to commit often (usually so that I have something to fall back upon if I break it), so new features should be fairly easy to access.

Also, if you are a Mac or Window person, and feel like compiling it, please send me an email. I’m fairly sure that it should work on Windows, but I’m curious as to whether it would support Adium. I also have no way of compiling for either of those architectures, so any offers are welcome.

4 thoughts on “CyanChat + Pidgin

  1. Cube says:

    If you’re interested, I’m the guy that created the icons for Facebook4pidgin and Skype4pidgin, and I wouldn’t mind creating one for CyanChat4Pidgin!

    Contact: http://cubestuff.wordpress.com/about/

  2. Paradox says:

    Wow. It’s great to see you offering your help! The icon was something that concerned me when I first started, as I had no experience creating icons. I tried making a Tango style icon of the Cyan World logo, and while it looks presentable, it doesn’t quite meet the Tango guidelines and the look that I had been hoping to create.

  3. Cube says:

    Alright! So? Could you come to the page and contact me somehow?

    http://cubestuff.wordpress.com/about/

  4. […] July 17, 2009 at 21:49 (Programming, pidgin-cyanchat) When I first wrote pidgin-cyanchat over a year ago I had no idea what I was doing. Quite honestly, my knowledge of C was whatever I had picked up […]

Leave a Reply

